HHS Secretary names members for HIT policy and standards committees

Nov. 5, 2014

Health and Human Services Secretary Sylvia M. Burwell named a new member to the Health Information Technology Policy Committee (HITPC) and renewed appointments for three members of the Health IT Standards Committee (HITSC). The committees are charged with recommending policies and technologies needed to implement a nationwide health information technology infrastructure and strategic plan.

The two federal advisory committees were created through the Health Information Technology for Economic and Clinical Health (HITECH) Act in accordance with the Federal Advisory Committee Act (FACA). The committees provide the opportunity for stakeholders and the public to provide direct input to HHS.

Three members of the HITPC are appointed by the HHS Secretary, four members are appointed by Congress, 13 members are appointed by the Comptroller General of the United States and other federal members are appointed by the President.  Members of the HITSC are appointed by the HHS Secretary, with input from the HHS National Coordinator for Health IT.

New HITPC Member:

  • Anjum Khurshid, public health representative; senior advisor – health systems division, Louisiana Public Health Institute

Continuing HITSC Members:

  • Floyd Eisenberg, M.D., M.P.H., quality measurement representative; consultant, iParsimony LLC
  • Leslie Kelly Hall, consumer/patient representative; senior vice president of policy, Healthwise
  • Arien Malec, electronic exchange representative, vice president – data platform and acquisition Tools, RelayHealth