WEDI honors health IT industry leaders

Jan. 6, 2017
WEDI industry leader award winners honored at WEDI-Con 2016 included: (left to right) Durwin Day, Jim Daley, Rob Tennant, Peggy Honts, Sherry Wilson, Kathy Jonzzon, Laurie Burkhardt, Pam Grosze, Heather McComas, Laurie Darst, Debbi Meisner, Rachel Foerster, Shana Olshan, Lorraine Doo, Tammy Banks.

The Workgroup for Electronic Data Interchange (WEDI) recently recognized industry champions for their contributions to further the association and health IT industry initiatives. The awards focus on using health IT to create efficiencies in healthcare information exchange. Each award recipient was announced during WEDI-Con 2016 in Reston, VA, on Tuesday, Nov. 8. Honorees included:

Andrew H. Melczer Award: Excellence in Volunteerism—Robert Tennant, Director of Health Information Technology Policy at the Medical Group Management Association (MGMA), is the 2016 recipient of the Melczer Award. This award recognizes an individual who has provided exemplary service by giving their time to the association and healthcare IT industry activities on a national basis. The award aims to recognize the person whose business philosophy is to make the world a better place by sharing one’s time and talents and is named in memory of Andrew H. Melczer, who exemplified these characteristics through his volunteerism with WEDI.

Chair’s Award—This award is presented at the discretion of WEDI’s Chair to an individual who has demonstrated exceptional leadership and commitment to the advancement of specific WEDI initiatives. The 2016 recipients of this award include:

  • Jim Daley, BlueCross BlueShield of South Carolina;
  • Laurie Darst, Mayo Clinic; and
  • Jay Eisenstock, Aetna.

Distinguished Service—This award recognizes individuals who have provided significant leadership to the fulfillment of the mission, objectives, programs, and overall volunteer activities of WEDI through participation in committees, workgroups, PAGs, and Board of Directors, among others. The 2016 recipients of this award include:

  • Tammy Banks, UnitedHealth Group;
  • Laurie Burkhardt, WPS Health Solutions;
  • Jay Eisenstock, Aetna;
  • Tina Greene, Mitchell International, Inc.;
  • Pamela Grosze, PNC Bank;
  • Kathy Jonzzon, Delta Dental Plans Association;
  • Debbi Meisner, Change Healthcare; and
  • Robert Tennant, Medical Group Management Association.

Excellence in Health IT Award—Recognizing an individual or organization’s contribution to the advancement of health information technology and eCommerce technology in healthcare, the 2016 Excellence in Health IT Award recipient was Florida Blue.

HIT Government Champion Award—This award recognizes exceptional government personnel who have supported policy that advances the Health IT industry. The 2016 HIT Government Champion Award was presented to Lorraine Doo, Senior Policy Advisor at the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS). Doo has been an active ally of WEDI and has helped build government support on many new initiatives.

Louis W. Sullivan Award—Named in honor of WEDI founder and former HHS Secretary, The Honorable Louis W. Sullivan, M.D., this award was first presented to Dr. Sullivan in 2001 and recognizes individuals who have distinguished themselves through their leadership, vision, and achievements in advancing the overall quality and efficiency of healthcare. The 2016 Sullivan Award was presented to Shana Olshan, Director of the National Standards Group for the Office of Enterprise Information at CMS.

Outstanding Corporate Leadership Award—This award is given to a company that has served as a strong champion of progress in the Health IT industry through its continued commitment to WEDI’s sponsorship programs throughout the year. The 2016 awardee was Axiom Systems, an information technology solutions firm providing an array of information technology consulting services and products exclusively to the healthcare industry.

Outstanding Leadership Award—This award recognizes Workgroup/Taskforce or Subworkgroup Co-Chairs who have consistently contributed toward the growth, success, and impact that their group has made on the industry. The 2016 recipients of this award include:

  • Adele Allison, DST Healthcare;
  • Alison Armstrong, Anthem;
  • Janice Bakos, Aetna;
  • Rhonda Buckholtz, AAPC;
  • Katie Johansen Taber, American Medical Association (AMA);
  • Heather McComas, AMA;
  • Jay Sultan, TriZetto; and
  • Sherry Wilson, Jopari Solutions, Inc.

Volunteer Service—This certificate recognizes a leader in the making, someone who is making a real contribution and a real difference within WEDI. This award recognizes someone who has actively supported the efforts of their workgroup, sub-workgroup, or taskforce through their commitment, leadership, team play, and productivity. The 2016 recipients of this award include:

  • Mark Cone, N-Tegrity Solutions Group Consulting;
  • Durwin Day, Health Care Service Corporation;
  • Rachel Foerster, Rachel Foerster & Associates;
  • Priscilla Holland, NACHA; and
  • Gale Scott, Tampa General Hospital.

For more information on the 2016 awardees or on the WEDI-Con conference, please visit

Sponsored Recommendations

Enhancing Remote Radiology: How Zero Trust Access Revolutionizes Healthcare Connectivity

This content details how a cloud-enabled zero trust architecture ensures high performance, compliance, and scalability, overcoming the limitations of traditional VPN solutions...

Spotlight on Artificial Intelligence

Unlock the potential of AI in our latest series. Discover how AI is revolutionizing clinical decision support, improving workflow efficiency, and transforming medical documentation...

Beyond the VPN: Zero Trust Access for a Healthcare Hybrid Work Environment

This whitepaper explores how a cloud-enabled zero trust architecture ensures secure, least privileged access to applications, meeting regulatory requirements and enhancing user...

Enhancing Remote Radiology: How Zero Trust Access Revolutionizes Healthcare Connectivity

This content details how a cloud-enabled zero trust architecture ensures high performance, compliance, and scalability, overcoming the limitations of traditional VPN solutions...